System Council No. 9 is one of six system councils within the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers' Railroad Department. We represent approximately 900 IBEW railroaders who live and work across 24 states in the Eastern United States. Our members belong to 21 IBEW Local Unions and are the finest railroad electricians, communications workers, pier technicians, and signal maintainers working in the rail industry today.

The IBEW has given System Council No. 9 jurisdiction over the following work when performed for five rail carriers:

BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION SERVICES holds the maintenance contract for rolling stock on the Brunswick and Camden Lines of Maryland Area Regional Commuter (MARC), a commuter rail system in the Baltimore-DC area. Bombardier employs over a dozen of our members as electricians and contract foremen.

CANADIAN NATIONAL provides employment for approximately 25 of our members as communications workers across its Grand Trunk Western territory, in addition to a small handful of locomotive electricians.

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION (CONRAIL), once the nation's primary Class I railroad, today Conrail Shared Assets Operations employs over 30 of our members as communications workers and electricians.

CSX TRANSPORTATION is System Council No. 9's largest rail carrier, and the third largest Class I Railroad in the United States. More than 800 of our members work for CSXT as locomotive electricians, communications workers, road electricians, and pier technicians.

NEW ENGLAND CENTRAL RAILROAD provides employment for a handful of our members employed as signal maintainers on their line running from Alburgh, Vermont, to New London, Connecticut.


This System Council is maintained for the purpose of facilitating the work of IBEW members, for the perfection of the Organization, and for the means by which the work shall be handled for the interests of those employed in our branch of the craft, and in keeping each member informed of all conditions in which we are interested.

The necessity of establishing a closer affiliation is recognized and to this end we pledge ourselves; to labor united, and to perpetuate the permanency of a concrete organization which shall have for its object the uplift of all Electrical Workers.



For carrier-specific information, visit our "Affiliated Railroads" Page.

All CDL Drivers:


Federal drug and alcohol testing regulations affecting all CDL drivers (49 CFR § 382.703) have changed. CLICK HERE to read the new language.

CSXT sent a letter to all employees known to hold a CDL, and a consent form that must be signed in order to avoid disqualification.


National Freight Railroad Contract Negotiations

  • 11/1/2019 - IBEW announces it has joined a bargaining coalition comprised of all Rail Labor Organizations except BMWED and SMART-Mechanical.

  • 11/1/2019 - NCCC serves the Carriers' Section 6 Notice on Organizations [VIEW]

  • 12/12/2019 - IBEW serves the NCCC its Section 6 Notice [VIEW]

  • 2/28/2020 - Negotiations were held in Arlington, Virginia.

  • Negotiations scheduled through June have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • 7/28/2020 - Negotiations were held via video-conference. See PRESS RELEASE.

  • 8/27/2020 - Negotiations were held via video-conference.

  • Facebook Social Icon

Join our Facebook Group for more news and updates related to System Council No. 9 

  • Facebook Social Icon

Last Updated 9/17/2020

​IBEW and its logos are registered trademarks. All rights reserved. © 2019-2020 System Council No. 9, IBEW

Material from this website may not be used on any non-union website or publication without expressed permission from the IBEW.
Links from this website do not necessarily indicate an endorsement. For concerns, comments or problems with this site, please contact us.